Stations of the Cross

Walking the Stations of the Cross allow us to walk the path the Jesus walked as he carried his cross to Golgotha to be crucified. By walking the Stations we enter into Jesus’ suffering and experience the deep and abiding love Jesus has for us.

There are traditionally 14 Stations of the Cross (an optional 15th being added after the Lenten season). Each station features an image of Jesus at a certain moment on his journey and a prayer.

  • Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death
  • Station 2: Jesus receives his cross
  • Station 3: Jesus falls under the weight of the cross for the first time
  • Station 4: Jesus meets his mother
  • Station 5: Simon of Cyrene helps Jess to carry the cross
  • Station 6: The face of Jesus is wiped by Veronica
  • Station 7: Jesus falls a second time
  • Station 8: The women of Jerusalem mourn our Lord
  • Station 9: Jesus falls the third time
  • Station 10: Jesus is stripped of his garments
  • Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the cross
  • Station 12: Jesus dies upon the cross
  • Station 13: Jesus is laid in the arms of his mother
  • Station 14: Jesus is laid in the tomb
  • Station 15: The tomb is empty

The best way to walk the Stations of the Cross is to visit a church that has them – most Catholic churches have the Stations set up year round. You can also walk the Stations online